Why Oak Harvest

Chartered Financial Consultant®

Advanced planning for every person, every need. That’s the goal of a ChFC® (Chartered Financial Consultant®) designation from The American College of Financial Services.

The Chartered Financial Consultant® (ChFC®) credential was introduced in 1982. This designation has the same core curriculum as the widely known CFP® designation, plus additional elective courses that focus on various areas such as divorcees and special needs families.

To secure the designation, applicants must have three years of full-time business experience within the preceding five years and must complete nine university-level courses, equivalent to 27 semester credit hours. Students must master over 100 topics on integrated advanced financial planning, covering areas including:

  • Financial Planning: Process and Environment
  • Insurance Planning
  • Employee Benefits Planning
  • Income Tax Planning
  • Estate Tax, Gift Tax, and Transfer Tax Planning
  • Asset Protection Planning
  • Retirement Planning
  • Estate Planning
  • Applications of Comprehensive Financial Planning and Consulting

As with the CFP®, the ChFC® holder must continue to earn 30 continuing education credits every 2 years plus an ethics certification to maintain the designation. This involves taking courses and participating in programs to keep current on financial planning practices.

Meeting all these requirements leads to a ChFC® designation.


Source: The American College of Financial Services

The Retirement Income Show Logo


Listen to our radio show hosted by Troy Sharpe at 12 p.m. every Sunday on 740 AM Newsradio 740KTRH.

Retirement Videos on YouTube


Concerned about how market activity could affect your retirement? Get the latest market updates on our youtube channel.

Stock Talk

Stock Talk

Listen to Stock Talk to learn more about OHFG's view of the capital markets.